Soup for the soul…

Easy, delicious, warming… I often use this creamy garlic soup as a starter in the winter time if I have people over, or just a everyday dinner for me and my husband. This soup has converted my nephew and niece liking onions and garlic- so I think that speaks for itself.

I often pack this soup in my thermal bottle for a lunch at work and also if I find myself hiking or skiing longer distances- this is the food to take with 🙂

garlicsoup1

Creamy Garlic Soup

Olive oil (or any other you happen to have)

3 whole garlics

3 onions

2 tbl spoons of flour (I use plain flour, but also cornflour can be used- and occasionally I have forgotten the whole flour…)

4 cups of vegetable stock (or water and stock cubes, (I have also used chicken stock)

1 cup of cream

salt and white pepper

Making it:

1. Peal all the garlic gloves and chop the onions

2. Add some oil into a pot and pour the onions and garlic gloves in.

3. When onion has soften a bit, add in flour and mix well.

4. Add in vegetable stock (and for extra flavour you can add a cup of white wine of your choice)

5. Let the soup boil in a mid temperature between 30 to 40 minutes and then take it off the heat.

6. Take a hand held electric mixer and smooth the soup. In case you don’t have mixer n hand you can use potato masher or even whisk- once I have used fork to make a bit lumpy garlic soup- still tasted great 🙂 …

7. Pour in cream and add salt and white pepper (I have also used black pepper) and check the flavour.

8. Heat up the soup, but do not boil it.

9. Serve with fresh bread!

Leave a comment