Guinness Cherry Brownies

There is few things that come in mind when thinking about Ireland. For me those were green friends, beaches, rain, castles and of course Guinness. For the longest of time I have been thinking how to corporate the Guinness in baking and I have been also a bit hesitant as I rarely like anything baked with alcohol.

So I finally got around to it and I have to say my hesitanse was for nothing. Turned out great- I will do a test run also with my in-laws for feedback 🙂

guinness

Guinness Cherry Brownies

What you need:

  • 180 g of butter
  • 200 g of dark chocolate
  • 200 g of sugar (1 dl sugar weighs 85 g)
  • 125 g of wheat flour (1 dl flour weighs 65 g)
  • 40 g of uncaramelized dark cocoa powder (if you have only so called normal cocoa powder- double the amount)
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 dl Guinness
  • 200 g of cherries, of which the stone removed (or, for example. raspberries)

Turn oven to 180 degrees (Celsius).Melt the chocolate and butter. Mix the dry ingredients together. Whisk the eggs and sugar. Add the dry ingredients and then chocolate butter mixture to the egg foam. Finally mix in Guinness and cherries.

Pour the dough into a oven dish (like lasagne dish or so). Bake the brownies about 35 minutes or until the edges of the brownie are done and the middle still a bit muddy.

Let the brownie cool down. These brownies are at their best day or two after making.

Decorate with cherries and icing sugar, cut to serving size pieces and enjoy 🙂

Leave a comment